Armstrong County News
HEALTHY Armstrong Recognized PDF Print E-mail
Written by The Office of the Commissioners   
Wednesday, 10 June 2009 12:17


At today’s Public Meeting the Armstrong County Board of Commissioners signed a proclamation to make April 2009 Armstrong County Wellness Month.  HEALTHY Armstrong was recognized and commended for its outstanding effort in promoting a healthier community.  HEALTHY Armstrong consists of five major partners: ACMH Hospital and Foundation, Armstrong School District, Children’s Community Care-Armstrong, the County of Armstrong, and UPMC Health Plan.


Armstrong County has the distinction of being the first We Can! County (Ways to Enhance Children’s Activity and Nutrition).   The program strives to strengthen and create healthier lifestyle choices for the youth through food choices and increased physical activity. 


Kay Owen, Project Director of Armstrong County Hospital discussed further developing the project to include families.  She invited everyone to view the project’s goals and accomplishments on the internet at, (.net or .org may also be used).




Picture from left to right: Commissioner Rich Fink, Commissioner Patty Kirkpatrick, Kay Owen – HEALTHY Armstrong, Dr. Hal Altman, Devin Lorigan – Armstrong School District, Commissioner Jim Scahill, Michelle Tallman – UPMC Health Plan
Commissioners sign Resolution supporting Victims of Crime Assistance PDF Print E-mail
Written by Webmaster   
Wednesday, 25 March 2009 10:35
The Board of Commissioners signed a resolution to help protect Victims of Crime Assistance (VOCA).  The Victims of Crime Act of 1984 established the Crime Victims fund, a main source of money and support for crime victims and services.  The compensation program pays directly for medical care, counseling, lost wages, funerals and other out of pocket expenses for victims of crimes.  In 2000 Congress began capping annual spending for the fund in order to ensure a stable level of funding remains in place.  Since 2004 the cap on the amount released has been lower than the amount of deposits into the fund creating nearly a 1.5 billion dollar surplus.  These caps and funding cuts limit the victim services HAVIN and other VOCA groups will be able to provide.  The Board of Commissioners passed Armstrong County Resolution 2009-02, Victims of Crime Assistance, recommending to Congress that the annual cap on the VOCA Crime Victims Fund be increased to one billion dollars, and that the increase in released funds be allocated entirely to State Victim Assistance Grants.  Copies of the resolution will be transmitted to the President pro tempore of the United States Senate and the Speaker of the United States House of Commission on Crime and Delinquency.
Armstrong County Jail Officer of the Year PDF Print E-mail
Written by Webmaster   
Wednesday, 25 March 2009 10:33
Armstrong County Jail Warden David C. Hogue has announced that Officer Tracy A Mergen has received the “Officer of the Year” at the Armstrong County Jail.  Criteria for selection of “Officer of the Year” was based on professionalism, quality of performance, attitude, dependability, safety, and commitment to excellence.  Selection for “Officer of the Year” was done by nominations from fellow officers at the Armstrong County Jail.  Warden Hogue and the Board of Commissioners commended Officer Mergen on her achievement, and complimented her on her outstanding attitude.  Officer Mergen graduated from Lenape Vo-Tech and the Pennsylvania Department of Corrections Training Academy.  Officer Mergen resides in the Kittanning area with her three children.
Retirees Recognized PDF Print E-mail
Written by Webmaster   
Tuesday, 10 February 2009 21:38

Seven Armstrong County Retirees representing a combined total of over 159 years experience and service were honored at today’s public meeting. The Retirement Board consisting of Commissioners Ms. Kirkpatrick, Mr. Fink and Mr. Scahill, County Controller, Ms Miller and County Treasurer, Ms Mervis presented the Retiree’s with engraved plaques.  Five retirees attended the meeting and were given a chance to comment on their time with the county and what retirement has held for them.

Retirees from 2008 are:


 Beverly A. Casella*         51 years         1956 to 2008

Fred S. Delp*                  20 years         1988 to 2008

Sara J. Kerr*                   12 years         1995 to 2008

Susan M. McGaughey*      27 years         1981 to 2008

Sherian E. Schaffer        15 years         1984 to 2008

Lois J. Smail*                16 years         1991 to 2008

William E. Willyard          18 years         1979 to 2008 

*Denotes Attendance at meeting  



   Retiree Photo

    Seated Mr. Delp, Ms. Casella, Ms. McGaughey, Standing: Ms. Mervis, Ms. Miller, Ms. Smail, Mr. Scahill, Ms. Kerr, Mr. Fink, Ms. Kirkpatrick


<< Start < Prev 11 12 13 Next > End >>

Page 13 of 13
Healthy Armstrong



Southwestern Pennsylvania Commission