Temporary Changes for Recycling Services PDF Print E-mail
Written by County Systems Administrator   
Thursday, 07 December 2017 15:55


Recycling services will be adjusted during the holiday season affecting schedules at the Progressive Workshop of Armstrong County, Armstrong Recycling Center and its remote drop-off trailer sites.

The Progressive Workshop of Armstrong County (PWAC) announced temporary schedule changes for the Progressive Workshop and its recycling services. The measure will provide time off for its clients during the holiday season.

“We are giving our clients this time off to go home and visit with their families and friends,” said Matt Ardeno, PWAC vice president of production and sales.

The recycling trailers will be temporarily relocated from all 11 remote drop-off sites to the Armstrong Recycling Center at the Armsdale Complex in Rayburn Township several days before Christmas through the first week in January.

Despite this temporary relocation of trailers and schedule change for staff and clients, people can still drop off recyclable materials at the Armstrong Recycling Center, Ardeno said.

“All of the trailers will be located at the Recycling Center,” Ardeno said. “You will still be able to go out there and place items in the trailers.”

Please note the following schedule:

•    Dec. 18 – 22: Recycling trailers at all 11 remote drop-off locations throughout Armstrong County will be pulled from sites.

•    Dec. 25 – Jan. 1, 2018: PWAC and the Recycling Center at 139 Armsdale Road, Kittanning, PA  16201 (Rayburn Township) will be closed for the holiday break.

•    Jan. 2-5, 2018: Recycling trailers will be returned to all 11 sites.

Materials accepted include the following: Newspapers; office paper/magazines; corrugated cardboard; aluminum cans; steel cans; #1 and #2 plastic bottles and jugs; green, clear and brown glass bottles and jars; used motor oil.

Please see the locations for the 11 remote drop-off trailers sites affected by the temporary relocation:

•    City of Parker: Near 415 Bluff Ave.
•    East Franklin: 1301 Bear Road, Cowansville
•    Kittanning: 1340 N. Water St.
•    Worthington/West Franklin: 171 Union St., Worthington
•    South Buffalo: 129 Boyd Road
•    Ford City: 2nd Ave., across from 1110 3rd Ave.
•    Freeport: 1 Lower Market St.
•    Elderton: 217 s. Lytle St.
•    Rural Valley: 122 Mill St.
•    Dayton: 207 Mechanic St.
•    Mahoning: 3279 SR 28/66

For more information about the Armstrong County Recycling Program call Dennis Hawley at 724-763-6316.

Healthy Armstrong



Southwestern Pennsylvania Commission